full disclosure: contains justin bieber

I watch a lot of movies. Last year, I logged close to 300 views; this year the number dropped to about 250. That kind of depressed me, because I wanted to at least match last year’s number. As I did last year, I’ll post a list of everything I viewed, with first time views marked accordingly. I have noticed a disturbing trend, however: the more films I watch, the less books I read, and that is something I’m not particularly proud of. So with the help of some twitter pals, I’m logging my reading over at Goodreads. HORRAY.

Now, on to the point of this post:

justin bieber

“how do i make photograph?”

Okay. Maybe I will catch some sort of hell for this, but bear with me. Justin Bieber. One Direction. Nicki Minaj. Lady Gaga. And so on. Why do people pile so much hate on these people and their fans? What’s the deal with that? The older I get, the less I understand people who are music snoots to the point where they constantly are bagging on modern pop music. If you do not like it, do not listen. I for one love Top 40 pop radio, because it makes me happy. And really, mocking young people for being Beliebers or One Directioners or what have you is some sad shit. YOU ARE MOCKING YOUNG PEOPLE. FOR HAVING INTERESTS. As if you never had a now-embarrassing phase in your youth. Please. I’m not going to tell you to try listening to modern pop music – that won’t change any minds – but for chrissakes you sound like a giant asshole when you talk shit about other people’s musical tastes.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I went through a New Kids on the Block phase, and had more than a passing interest in the Backstreet Boys. If that makes anyone think less of me, fuck you. Those songs still make me really happy, and listening to Top 40 radio reminds me of that same happy music. Yeah, some of it is “technically” crap (pardon the scarequotes), and some of it is relatively unoriginal, but shit, so was Elvis, who stole his best stuff from Black artists. OOOH SICK BURN. Well done, me. Give me a moment to pat myself on the back for that. Moment over.

Anyhow, I don’t have much more to say about this other than everyone needs to shut the hell up about pop music. Listen to whatever you like without being shitty about what others like. And for fuck’s sake, the next person who calls themselves a music fan but then immediately follows it with a disclaimer that starts with “except…” can go right to hell. Country and rap are fucking awesome. Pop music is awesome. Prog is awesome. Music in general is awesome. Shut up forever about it.

mic drop

mic. dropped.

jibber-jabber

