coming soon: the October Horror Movie Challenge 2014

October is coming fast, friends! I’ve got my queue built and ready to go for the…

OctoberChallenge2014-Haxanimage credit – Christianne Benedict of Krell Laboratories

This is one of my favorite times of the year. I love horror films anyway, but watching an average of one per day (sometimes more on the weekends) for a whole month is my Christmas. This year, I’m planning for 31 first time views (FTVs), the majority of which are derived from Hidden Horror, the book for which I wrote an essay on one of my favorite films of any genre, Phantom of the Paradise. Here is the list I’ll be drawing from (alongside some of the standards like Halloween, Trick ‘r Treat, and Frankenstein):

[REC]
[REC]2
Black Room
Someone’s Watching Me
Opera
Mr. Sardonicus
Blood and Black Lace
The Tingler
He Knows You’re Alone
Silent Night, Bloody Night
The Innocents
Phenomena
At Midnight I’ll Take Your Soul
Brain Damage
Eden Lake
Evilspeak
The Horror of Party Beach
Isle of the Dead
Isolation
The Man Who Laughs
Pretty Poison
Santa Sangre
Tombs of the Blind Dead
Vampyr
The Company of Wolves
Dark Waters
Violent Midnight
The Eye
The Living and the Dead
The Mothman Prophecies
The Seventh Victim
Uzumaki

As a side note, I have seen [REC], but since I had both it and its sequel on my queue and I haven’t seen it in years, I figured it was as good a time as any to revisit it. Also, I watched some of Phenomena with my friend Renee, but I think I fell asleep because we watched it at like three in the morning. This list is really exciting, because I know there are a lot of well-loved films in there, and they represent a variety of countries and decades as well. Basically, October can’t get here soon enough.

If you also wish to participate, the “rules” are as such: between October 1 and midnight on October 31, you must watch 31 horror films, at least 16 of which are new to you. You can watch more than 31 films if you wish (some people attempt to watch way more than that, and from personal experience, I do not recommend it), but the goal is to watch 16 first time views. There is no real winner, and ideally by the end of the month, you’ve watched some great horror films that you haven’t seen before and you maybe revisit some old classics.

Finally, here are some banners that Christianne put together for previous years’ challenges; please feel free to use them (but maybe link to her blog or give her a credit in there somewhere, yanno?). See you in October, pals!

OctoberChallenge

OctoberChallenge2010

OctoberChallenge2013-DraculaLong

OctoberChallenge2013-DraculaPortrait

OctoberChallenge2013-ThingLong

OctoberChallenge2013-ThingPortrait

OctoberChallenge2014-BlackSabbath

OctoberChallenge2014-BlackSunday

OctoberChallenge2014-Haxan

OctoberChallenge2014-LNosferatu

jibber-jabber

