OHMC 2014 HIDDEN HORROR GIVEAWAY! (100th POST!!)

hidden horror cover

Want your own copy of Hidden Horror? OF COURSE YOU DO.

Sure, you could buy Hidden Horror (and really, you should anyway), but here’s your chance to win a copy for yourself! It’s simple — just comment on this post with your favorite horror film and a brief description why you love that particular film. That’s it! TWO winners will be chosen at random, but comments DO need to be on this post right here to be entered in the drawing.

But what if you don’t like horror? That’s okay! Just comment about your favorite film of another genre, and you’ll be added into the mix. I’ll just have to assume you’re trying to win the book for a friend. Speaking of friends, feel free to share this post!

Now, a few ground rules:
— Hidden Horror contributing authors are NOT allowed to enter into the drawing, but can still comment on their favorite horror!
— One entry per person during the course of the giveaway (contest runs from October 15 through October 22, 2014). You may list more than one film, but only one comment per person, please!
— Contest open to pals across the world! Due to shipping costs, if the winner is from somewhere other than North America, I’ll arrange to purchase a copy for you from your nearest Amazon site!
— I reserve the right to disqualify entries for inappropriate or discriminatory comments, so keep it clean!

Okay! You have from right now to a week from right about now to tell me about your favorite horror movie…and GO!

46 thoughts on “OHMC 2014 HIDDEN HORROR GIVEAWAY! (100th POST!!)

  1. Martyrs, because it is utterly relentless in its brutality, and yet despite the wondrous gore, so much of the true horror is delivered off-camera. Can’t be specific, as that would be spoilerish, but this is a movie whose implications are as disturbing as the torture sequences. Which makes it a delightful film.

    1. “Candyman”. The reason is because the “villains” are the most sympathetic characters in the movie, it’s genuinely frightening in spots and it feels like the source material was treated with respect.

      1. Ooh, agreed on all that, Eric. CANDYMAN is probably the best of the Barker adaptations, or at least the most mature. Thanks for commenting, and best of luck!

    2. Rafael, “delightful” is the last word I think of when I think of MARTYRS, but I completely agree with your thoughts on it. I still haven’t gotten up the courage to watch it again! Thanks for entering the drawing, and good luck!!

  2. Right now, it’s got to be “Dawn of the Dead” (2004)–it was my first experience with fast zombies, and THAT scared the crap outta me! My only hope in the zombie apocalypse is that they’ll be nice, slow, Romero zombies. If they can run, I’m dead meat!

  3. My Favorite Horror Film: Ravenous. The score alone in “the Devil’s Key” works to create atmosphere. The violence punctuates the claustrophobic setting to bring shock, something often lacking. There is also the brilliant commentary about how it is the colonizer who brings this terrible shit with him. It is the inspiration for the first game I attempted to write. How could it not be my favorite.

  4. FREAKS, my mom and I watched that as one of our first movies into our horror movie nights we started when I was 6. Its a classic and I love Tod Browning.

    1. FREAKS is totally a classic that’s still powerful even today, so I’m right there with you, Kris! Thanks for participating, and good luck!

  5. My favourite horror film is “Black Christmas”, as it’s the only film to still consistently scare me. The phone calls, what you don’t see, the constant howling wind, the quietness of the film. And that ending….All add up to a terrifying little film. It should be celebrated a bit more.

  6. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre(original), because it is pure perfection, and blows my mind at the same level it did when I first saw it so many years ago.

    1. Eric, TCM is still one of the most visceral, raw horror films out there. It just hits every nerve. Thanks for your comment, and good luck!

  7. A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 is my favorite horror film. While I do love the first one that started it all, I feel more of a connection with Dream Warriors. The actors and characters are likeable, and I’m sympathetic toward them. Nancy returning is a wonderful–and ultimately sad–highlight. But I enjoy horror films that can make me cry, make me experience something other than fear or laughter. There are some great effects, memorable lines, and the red and blue and green color scheme is beautiful. It’s a terrific movie that brings me back to the ’80s.

    1. Hi Nathan! I think DREAM WARRIORS is probably the best of the sequels after NEW NIGHTMARE. It feels very real and genuine and not overly comedic. Good luck in the draw!

  8. My favorite horror movie fright (believe it or not this was a typo I am not fixing) now is Martin. hitter Romero films, they don’t have the charm or style that is prevalent in Martin. It has a very personal feel in the writing, and enhanced in the very DIY style of the filming of the film. I also really love the way he decided to deal with vampirism, it’s easy to watch, sincere and surprisingly heartfelt; a lot of which is brought by the phenomenal performance of John Amplas. He manages to somehow, make Martin very sympathetic and likable, despite all the horrors he does through the film. That’s a hard thing to do in a movie. On top of all that the score is beautiful and doesn’t get the attention it deserves, it’s so good.

  9. If I had to name only ONE favorite horror film I’d have to go with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. It’s one of the first horror films I saw as a young kid and it left a lasting impression on me. After seeing it, the horror floodgates were opened.

    1. Hey Mike! I didn’t see TCM until I was well into my 20s, and it certainly made an impression on me. Thanks for commenting and good luck!

  10. Re-Animator has been my favorite since I saw it in the mid 80’s, because underappreciated genre filmmaker Stuart Gordon took what is generally considered to be H.P. Lovecraft’s weakest story, and turned it into an over-the-top cult classic, full of dark humor, medically accurate zombies, and Jeffrey Combs career defining turn as Dr. Herbert West.

    1. Maaaan, RE-ANIMATOR is just one of my favorite movies, hands down. I mean, I named my cat Sherbert West as a result. Stuart Gordon also stole my seat at a horror marathon one time! So cool. Good luck!!

  11. The Thing (1982), because it not only had an amazing cast, a superbly developed story, and the unmatched physical FX of Rob Bottin, it made you wonder who was not what they said they were all the way to the end. Best horror film ever!

    1. Cannot agree more. THE THING is maybe Carpenter’s best film, too. I did a three-post appreciation of it not too long ago. Best of luck in the draw!!

  12. I have two favorites and both are by John Carpenter. The first is The Thing and the second is Prince of Darkness

  13. Phantasm….the kid in the film was about my age when I snuck into a theater to see this movie. I think the fact that I identified with him as well as the fact that the film seemed SO ENTIRELY different and dreamlike for horror films out at the time.

    1. PHANTASM is so solid. Actually, the whole series is pretty damn good, considering most horror franchises tend to fall apart with each sequel. Best of luck, buddy!!

  14. Two things, one was a movie I saw as a kid in Germany, a class Black and White Dracula flick, had all the classics, Vampire Castle, Village near the bottom with mandatory Inn with garlic necklaces hanging everywhere.. the castle itself contained the Vampire and his wives, at some point in the movie, the victim was lured into a room in the castle and then slaughtered rather horribly, gathering up all the blood…. gave me the screaming meemies for days..

    The other was a TV episode, Buck Rogers in the 25th Century, the Space Vampire episode.. I think I was maybe 15 or 17 when it aired… this literally gave me nightmares..

    1. Isn’t it interesting how stuff that seems really innocuous can trip that one trigger in our brains and really stick with us? Poltergeist was that film for me as a child. I hardly recovered! Thanks for commenting, and good luck!

  15. A Tale of Two Sisters, the Korean flick about two sisters living with a wicked step-mother. It’s been years since I’ve seen it but it’s still the only movie where I’ve spent most of the movie curled up in a ball in a theatre seat.

  16. Too many to pick but will go with the first one thought of which is The Birds from Alfred Hitchcock.

  17. The Exorcist is the only movie I will not watch after dark. I close my eyes trying to sleep after watching it and all I see is possessed Regan. The hardest part to watch in the moment, though, is when they’re doing all the medical tests on Regan. Horrifying.

    1. Full disclosure: The Exorcist is my favorite film of any genre, hands down. I can’t watch it in the dark, either, it still scares me too much. Allegedly, the medical scenes were what caused the most reaction from audiences back when this was in theaters. Best of luck in the draw, and thanks for commenting!

  18. Jacob’s Ladder is my favorite horror film. If that really happened to me I would be messed up! Great psychological horror and creepy fx.

  19. Cabin the Woods or the original Night of the Living Dead or Red State. I can’t really choose. All three are really tightly constructed, stunningly original, and just good damn films. Red State is probably the most frightening. Nothing is quite so scary as reality.

    1. Interesting picks there! I can’t say I’m a fan of RED STATE, but I certainly agree on the horror of real life. That’s probably the most effective kind of horror for me. Thanks, Edward, and good luck!

  20. I have to go with The Devil’s Backbone. It is my favorite Ghost Story and has an overall creepy feel. The underlying tension of a bomb sitting in the schoolyard is awesome. I am also amazed at how good the child actors are. Definitely a favorite for me!

Comments are closed.